Colour measurement in the paper industry

How does the measurement and control of color paper in production work?

There are several places where a measurement is useful. The earliest possible point in time is that incolor measurement the still liquid substance. A measurement between the press and dryer sections gives a good correlation with the laboratory for the decor papers. However, in most cases the one color measurement at the end of the machine is installed shortly before the reel, where the finished paper is measured as in the laboratory. This measurement location is also used for automatic Closed Loop Color Controlmeasurement.

color measurement before rewinding
color measurement between press and dryer section
color measurement in liquid pulp

Inline color measurement before rewinding

The finished paper is measured before winding. The measured values have a very good correlation to the laboratory values. Deviations from the target values can be automatically corrected by a Closed Loop Color Control. Due to fast start-up times and short transition times, there is less waste and due to the lower dyeing costs, the colour measurement pays for itself quickly.

The measurement is contactless at the machine. A background arm can be applied to the web for stabilization or opacity measurement. The measuring device as well as the background automatically swivels off in case of a paper break to facilitate the threading of the new web. As soon as the paper is stable again, the measuring device automatically swings into measuring position and starts measuring.

By means of the opacity measurement, the stack values are displayed in the software. Thus, there is an optimal correlation to the laboratory, where the paper is also measured in the stack.

The device operates in a harsh environment. Ambient light, vibrations, web speed and web flutter have no influence on the measurement results.

The ERX50 is designed to measure colored paper, white paper (with optical brightener and without nuances) and cardboard. Here, it is measured optical brightener separately. Typical applications are testliner, colored tissue, fine papers (colored or white), cardboard, decor papersecurity papers, thin printing papers, etc.

Advantages at a glance

ROI only color measurement

< 9 months

ROI with Closed Loop Color Control

< 6 months

Color correlation to the laboratory

<0,5 dE*

Automation with Closed Loop Color Control

95%

Our recommendation

color measurement systematically

Advantages of Inline Color Control

Advantages of the X-Rite Inline System

For decor paper: color measurement between press and dryer sections

For the production of decor paper, the color of the pressed paper must match exactly. The refractive index of the resin or varnish changes the colour impression of the paper. To adjust this on the paper machine, measurements are taken between the press and dryer sections, since the water in the paper has a similar refractive index to that of the pressed paper. Thus, a good correlation between the color measurement on the machine and in the laboratory is achieved.

With the inline color measurement system, the machine operator can quickly detect changes in the process and take countermeasures if necessary. A measurement result is available immediately after the strip has been applied. The machine operator can immediately see whether the correction made also produces the expected result. If necessary, the strip can be redyed without having to make another lamination. Thus, the transition times are considerably shortened. This color is then continuously monitored during production and even the smallest colour deviations are immediately displayed. The narrow tolerances can thus be reliably maintained.

The ERX50C (with circumverential illumination) is installed on a customized measuring frame (EFX) directly after the press section. The measuring distance of 10 mm to the paper web guarantees a reliable measurementwithoutdamaging the paper.

Advantages at a glance

ROI

< 9 months

Correlation to laboratory grouting

85%

Automation

70%

Our recommendation

erx50

Inline color measurement in the liquid paper stock

The color measurement in the pulp provides information even before the pulp is on the machine. Although the measured color does not correspond to that of the finished paper, a colour change in the pulp will automatically lead to a colour change in the finished paper. It therefore serves as an "early warning system".

Use of the measurement in the pulp

  • for monitoring whether the one ofcolor the current vat also corresponds to the last one
  • for the defined mixing of two material flows (e.g. waste paper with "clean" material)
  • to determine the influence of the addition of scrap
  • for displaying the dyeing results during manual dyeing in the vat

(at this point the optical optical brightener one can also be reliably detected)

Advantages at a glance

ROI

< 9 months

Reduction of the changeover times to

80%

Detection of colour variations

95%

You want a consistent color result for your paper production? 

We will be happy to advise you!

Give us a call

Consistent quality through Closed Loop Color Control

The color control software (ES19Win) controls up to 3 ink pumps plus one brightener pump. Additional pumps can be added manually. This ensures a very constant quality even with raw material fluctuations. Even the machine start-up and colour transitions are run in automatic mode. This not only saves time but also relieves the machine operator during this critical phase. He can take care of all the other settings.

The installation of the system normally takes two days. For that color measurement one more day is needed for the regulation. This requires a machine stop of only one hour. A connection to the control system is also possible.

eswin clcc software

ERX30: color measurement in the laboratory with 45°:0° geometry (CIE standard)

The ERX30 is the first laboratory measuring instrument with 45°:0° geometry and adjustable UV radiation for reliable determination of optical brighteners and opacity

The wide spectrum from 330 nm to 730 nm provides information not only in the visible range but also in the UV range. Due to the 45°:0° geometry the measurements correlate excellently with the visual impression. This geometry is also a standard in the printing industry and in inline color measurementprinting. Printers and paper manufacturers now speak the same "colour language".

This ensures comparable measurement results, especially for manufacturers of printing papers: Both Inline on the machine, as well as in the laboratoryThe same measuring geometry is used for measurements at the customer's site and at the printing plant.

color measurement at the lab

Inline color measurement

➡ supports coloring when starting up a new color
➡ Color transitions run automatically: saves approx. 50% of the time
➡ helps to keep
the color transitions constant color on the paper machine ➡ gives machine operators security during production
➡ no longer needs to estimate which color and how much must
be changed ➡ creates color consistency even with different production lots
➡ 100% quality assurance of the entire production

How is the inline colour measuring system installed?

FAQ's

In principle, a measurement at the machine should be contactless, preferably with a standardized measuring geometry. Ball measurement geometries (d:0°) as used in the laboratory (e.g. Elrepho) cannot be used on the machine, as they have to touch the sample. The paper would not only get quirks, but the "integrating sphere" would gather dust and give unusable results.

Therefore only the 45°:0° geometry is suitable. Here the illumination of the sample is done at 45° and the measurement at 0° (i.e. vertically from above). The distance between the ERX50 and the paper web is 10 mm. A special optical system ensures that normal web flutter has no influence on the measurement results.

To guide the paper web, the measuring device and, if present, the background is swung away from the web. This ensures problem-free threading. As soon as the web is spread and stable, the measuring system swings in and delivers the first measured values.

In the paper industry d:0° devices are standard. Often you can find Elrepho devices in the laboratories which correspond to this standard. The inline measurement can be well adapted to these devices.

However, sometimes it would be advantageous to use 45°:0° instruments in the laboratory. All inline colorimeters have a 45°:0° geometry, even the printers use 45°:0° exclusively. If the paper manufacturer's laboratory now uses a ball geometry for measuring, conflicts are pre-programmed. Both geometries deliver different values.

The sphere geometry measures the pure body colour, independent of the surface, whereas the 45°:0° geometry measures similar to the human eye. The laboratory measurements with the 45°:0° geometry therefore not only fit better to the inline measurements and the measurements of our customers, they also correlate much better to the visual impression.

The system is called turnkey system supplied by X-Rite. For this purpose, it is necessary to define the installation situation in the paper machine and determine it together with the customer's machine operators and technicians. The entire scope of supply must also be discussed. Is it only a "simple" color measurement one on the machine or should the system be capable of more. The following options are available:

  • color measurement on the front and back
  • Closed Loop Color Control for automatic control of the dyes / pigments used
  • Measurement in the laboratory
  • Operation from the control station
  • Connection to a process control system

Getting to the installation Service technician from X-Rite and install the system into the machine within a few days. This requires a Machine downtime of only one hour required. Of course not only the Operating personnel trained in several shifts, but also the Maintenance staff and Administrators.

Farbmessung in der Papierindustrie

Wie funktioniert das Messen und Regeln der Farbe von Papier in der Produktion?

Es gibt mehrere Stellen, an denen eine Messung sinnvoll ist.
Der frühest mögliche Zeitpunkt ist die Farbmessung im noch flüssigen Stoff, also noch bevor das Papier auf der Maschine ist.
Eine Messung zwischen Pressen- und Trockenpartie ergibt eine gute Korrelation zum Labor für die Dekorpapiere.
Meist wird aber die Farbmessung am Ende der Maschine kurz vor der Aufrollung installiert, wo das fertige Papier gemessen wird und eine gute Korrelation zum Labor hat. Dieser Messort wird auch für die automatische Farbregelung verwendet.

Farbmessung vor der Aufrollung

Farbmessung zwischen Pressen- und Trockenpartie

Farbmessung im flüssigen Papierstoff

Inline Farbmessung vor der Aufrollung

Das fertige Papier wird kurz vor der Aufrollung gemessen. Die Messwerte haben eine sehr gute Korrelation zu den Laborwerten. Eventuelle Abweichungen zu den Sollwerten können automatisch durch eine Farbregelung ausgeglichen werden. Durch schnelle Anlaufzeiten sowie kurze Übergangszeiten, entsteht weniger Ausschuss und durch die niedrigere Färbekosten amortisiert sich die Farbmessung schnell.

Die Messung erfolgt berührungslos an der Maschine. Nur zur Stabilisierung oder zur Opazitätsmessung kann ein Hintergrundarm an die Bahn angelegt werden. Das Messgerät sowie der Hintergrund schwenken bei Abriss automatisch ab, um das Aufführen der neuen Papierbahn zu erleichtern. Sobald das Papier wieder aufgeführt ist, schwenkt das Messgerät automatisch in Messposition und startet mit der Messung.

Mit Hilfe der Opazitätsmessung werden in der Software Stapelwerte angezeigt, wie sie auch im Labor gemessen werden. Somit ergibt sich eine optimale Korrelation zum Labor, wo das Papier ja auch im Stapel gemessen wird.

Das Gerät arbeitet in rauer Umgebung. Fremdlicht, Vibrationen, Bahngeschwindigkeit und Bahnflattern haben keinen Einfluss auf die Messergebnisse.

Das ERX50 dient zur Messung von farbigem Papier , weißem Papier (mit Aufheller und Nuancierfarbstoffen) und Karton. Hier wird der Aufheller getrennt erfasst. Typische Einsatzgebiete sind Testliner, farbiges Tissue, Feinpapiere (farbig oder weiß), Karton, Dekorpapier, Sicherheitspapiere, Dünndruckpapiere, u. v. a.

Vorteile auf einem Blick

ROI nur Farbmessung

< 9 Monate

ROI mit Farbregelung

< 6 Monate

Farbkorrelation zum Labor

<0,5 dE*

Automation mit Farbregelung

95%

Unsere Empfehlung

Farbmessung mit System

Vorteile der Inline Farbregelung

Vorteile des X-Rite Inline Systems

Für Dekorpapier: Farbmessung zwischen Pressen- und Trockenpartie

Bei der Produktion von Dekorpapier muss die Farbe des verpressten Papieres exakt passen. Der Reflexionsindex des Harzes oder Lacks verändert dabei den Farbeindruck des Papiers. Um dies auf der Papiermaschine nachzustellen wird zwischen der Pressen- und Trockenpartie gemessen. Das Wasser im Papier übernimmt dabei die optischen Eigenschaften des Harzes im verpressten Papier. Somit erreicht man eine gute Korrelation der Farbmessung auf der Maschine und im Labor.

Mit der Inline Farbmessung kann der Maschinenführer Änderungen im Prozess schnell erkennen und falls nötig gegensteuern. Direkt nach Aufführen des Streifens steht ein Messergebnis zur Verfügung. Der Maschinenführer sieht sofort, ob die durchgeführte Korrektur auch das erwartete Resultat erbringt. Gegebenenfalls kann nachgefärbt werden, ohne eine weitere Verpressung durchzuführen. Somit werden die Übergangszeiten deutlich verkürzt. Die Farbe wird während der Produktion dann kontinuierlich überwacht, selbst kleinste Farbabweichungen werden sofort angezeigt. Die engen Toleranzen können somit sicher eingehalten werden.

Das ERX50C (mit Rundumbeleuchtung) wird auf einem kundenspezifischen Messrahmen (EFX) direkt nach der Pressenpartie eingebaut. Der Messabstand von 10 mm zur Papierbahn garantiert eine sichere Messung, ohne das Papier zu beschädigen.

Vorteile auf einem Blick

ROI

< 9 Monate

Korrelation zur Laborverpressung

85%

Automation

70%

Unsere Empfehlung

erx50

Inline Farbmessung im flüssigen Papierstoff

Die Farbmessung im Papierstoff liefert Informationen noch bevor der Stoff auf der Maschine ist. Die gemessene Farbe entspricht zwar nicht der des fertigen Papiers, aber eine Farbänderung im Stoff führt unwillkürlich auch zu einer Farbänderung im fertigen Papier. Sie dient somit als „Frühwarnsystem“

Einsatz der Messung im Papierstoff

  • zur Überwachung ob die Farbe der aktuellen Bütte auch der zuletzt angesetzten entspricht
  • zur definierten Mischung zweier Stoffströme (z.B. Altpapier mit „sauberen“ Material)
  • zur Ermittlung des Einflusses bei der Zugabe von Ausschuss
  • zum Anzeigen der Färberesultate beim manuellen Färben in der Bütte

(an dieser Stelle kann auch der optische Aufheller sicher erfasst werden)

Vorteile auf einem Blick

ROI

< 9 Monate

Verkürzung der Umstellzeiten auf

80%

Erkennen von Farbschwankungen

95%

Sie wollen ein konsistentes Farbergebnis für ihre Papierproduktion? 

Wir beraten Sie gerne!

Rufen Sie uns an

Schreiben Sie uns

Konstante Qualität durch Farbregelung

Die Farbregelungssoftware (ES19Win) regelt bis zu 3 Farbpumpen plus einer Aufhellerpumpe. Weitere Pumpen können im manuellen Modus hinzugenommen werden. Dadurch wird auch bei Rohstoffschwankungen eine sehr konstante Qualität produziert. Die Regelung sorgt dafür, dass alle benötigten Farbstoffe gleichzeitig so angepasst werden, dass die Abweichung zum Sollwert sehr klein ist. Eine Abweichung vom Sollwert wird somit in 3 Regelschritten ausgeglichen.

Sogar der Maschinenanlauf und Farbübergänge werden im automatischen Modus gefahren. Dies spart nicht nur Zeit, sondern entlastet den Maschinenführer während dieser kritischen Phase. Er kann sich um all die anderen Einstellungen kümmern.

Der Einbau der Farbregelung dauert 3 Tage. Am ersten Tag wird die Farbmessung eingebaut. Dabei ist ein Maschinenstopp von nur einer Stunde nötig. Auch eine Anbindung an das Leitsystem ist möglich.
Am zweiten Tag erfolgt die Anbindung an die Dosierpumpen, so dass am Ende des Tages eine Regelung möglich ist.
Der dritte Tag steht für die Optimierung und die Schulung des Bedienpersonals zur Verfügung.

eswin-clcc-software

ERX30: Farbmessung im Labor mit 45°:0° Geometrie (CIE Standard)

Das ERX30 ist das erste Labormessgerät mit 45°:0° Geometrie und einstellbarer UV-Strahlung zur sicheren Bestimmung von optischen Aufhellern und Opazität

Das weite Spektrum von 330 nm bis 730 nm gibt nicht nur Aufschluss im sichtbaren Bereich, sondern auch im UV-Bereich. Durch die 45°:0° Geometrie korrelieren die Messungen exzellent mit dem visuellen Eindruck. Diese Geometrie ist auch Standard in der Druckindustrie, sowie in der Inline Farbmessung. Drucker und Papierhersteller sprechen nun die gleiche „Farb-Sprache“.

Dies sichert vergleichbare Messergebnisse vor allem für die Hersteller von Druckpapieren: Sowohl Inline auf der Maschine wie auch im Labor, als auch beim Kunden in der Druckerei wird mit der gleichen Messgeometrie gemessen.

Farbmessung im Labor

Inline Farbmessung

➡ unterstützt die Färbung beim Anlauf einer neuen Farbe
➡ Farbübergänge automatisch fahren: spart ca. 50% der Zeit
➡ hilft die Farbe auf der Papiermaschine konstant zu halten
➡ gibt den Maschinenführern Sicherheit bei der Produktion
➡ kein Schätzen mehr welche Farbe und wie viel verändert werden muss
➡ schafft Farbkonstanz auch über unterschiedliche Produktionslots
➡ 100 % Qualitätssicherung der gesamten Produktion

Wie wird das Inline-Farbmesssystem installiert ?

FAQ's

Eine Messung an der Maschine sollte prinzipiell berührungslos erfolgen, vorzugsweise mit einer genormten Messgeometrie. Kugelmessgeometrie (d:0°) wie sie im Labor verwendet werden (z. B. Elrepho) können auf der Maschine nicht eingesetzt werden, da sie die Probe berühren müssen. Das Papier würde nicht nur Macken bekommen, sondern die „Ulbricht- Kugel“ würde verstauben und unbrauchbare Ergebnisse liefern.

Somit bietet sich nur die 45°:0° Geometrie an. Hier erfolgt die Beleuchtung der Probe unter 45° und die Messung unter 0° (also senkrecht von oben). Der Abstand des ERX50 zur Papierbahn beträgt dabei 10 mm. Über eine spezielle Optik hat normales Bahnflattern sowie Fremdlicht auch keinen Einfluss auf die Messergebnisse.

Zum Aufführen der Papierbahn wird das Messgerät und wenn vorhanden auch der Hintergrund von der Bahn abgeschwenkt. Somit wird ein problemloses Aufführen gewährleistet. Sobald die Bahn breitgezogen ist und stabil steht schwenkt das Messsystem ein und liefert die ersten Messwerte.

In der Papierindustrie sind d:0° Geräte Standard. Oft findet man in den Labors Elrepho Geräte, die dieser Norm entsprechen. Die Inlinemessung kann gut an diese Geräte angepasst werden.

Manchmal wäre es aber von Vorteil, im Labor 45°:0° Geräte zu benutzen. Alle Inline Farbmessgeräte haben eine 45°:0° Geometrie, auch die Drucker verwenden ausschließlich 45°:0°. Wird im Labor des Papierherstellers nun mit einer Kugelgeometrie gemessen sind Konflikte vorprogrammiert. Beide Geometrien liefern unterschiedliche Werte.

Die Kugelgeometrie misst die reine Körperfarbe, unabhängig von der Oberfläche, wo hingegen die 45°:0° Geometrie ähnlich dem menschlichem Auge misst. Die Labormessungen mit der 45°:0° Geometrie passen also nicht nur besser zu den Inline Messungen und den Messungen unserer Kunden, sie korrelieren auch viel besser zum visuellen Eindruck.

Die Anlage wird als schlüsselfertiges System von X-Rite geliefert. Dazu ist es notwendig die Einbausituation in der Papiermaschine zu definieren und zusammen mit den Maschinenführern und Technikern des Kunden festzulegen. Auch muss der gesamte Lieferumfang besprochen werden. Handelt es sich nur um eine „einfache“ Farbmessung an der Maschine oder soll das System mehr können. Folgende Optionen stehen zur Verfügung:

  • Farbmessung auf der Vorderseite und Rückseite
  • Farbregelung zur automatischen Kontrolle der verwendeten Farbstoffe / Pigmente
  • Messung im Labor
  • Bedienung vom Leitstand
  • Anbindung an ein Prozessleitsystem

Zur Installation kommen Servicetechniker von X-Rite und bauen das System innerhalb von wenigen Tagen in die Maschine ein. Dazu ist ein Maschinenstillstand von nur einer Stunde erforderlich. Natürlich wird nicht nur das Bedienpersonal in mehreren Schichten geschult, sondern auch die Instandhalter und Administratoren.